top of page
Search

Wake Up Armchair Developers: Unreal Engine 5 is OUT! (ish)

Why am I yelling so early in the morning? Sorry, I guess there are better ways to get your attention, but-



...Technically. This isn't the entire program, just a way for people who use the program to prototype games and features.


Ok, Why Are You Calling Me An 'Armchair Developer' Also What Is The Unreal Engine?!


Projection. The Unreal Engine is an open source 3D creation engine that was created by Epic Games. (The same people who made Fortnite. Though acting like Fortnite is their legacy, undersells their interesting story. People have made videos about their history. )


When I younger, and maybe a little bit more ambitious and had a LOT more free time, I learned about Unreal Engine 4. Epic Games had just released it for people around the world to use for free. This included the caveat that if a group or individual made over $5000 in a business quarter, they would pay a royalty. They later included an entire library of content to teach people how to use it. I tried to make games in it. It was where I did 'programming' for the first time, I was so thrilled when an idea I had ACTUALLY worked! Then I noticed that there was an inherent problem with my idea, and racked my brain over fixing it. THEN IT WORKED! Until I noticed a inherent problem-

you get it.


Ok, That's Cute And All, But How Is That Relevant To My Interests


First off, it's always healthy to chase new interests and learn new things. Secondly, you don't need to only create games with the Unreal Engine. I still used the Unreal Engine to build small environments and place cameras on tracks to supplement backgrounds and composition in animated shots. This would have been extremely hard to do for a beginner in 2D. People use it for visualization and architecture, to make videos and play with physic simulations.


Also, never forget the memes. As painful as they are.


Self-Improvement Is Always Your Excuse, but Why UE5?


From a strictly objective, scientific point of view, the UI looks less poopy.


In a slightly more serious tone. I do believe that just the UI itself will allow new users to play with the viewport (the main screen that shows the 3D content) without getting overwhelmed by all the editors. I think this makes the program look even more "deep." I think the best way for open source engines to be successful is accessibility. Yes, the engine is complicated. Making stuff is hard. That being said, no tutorial in the world is more efficient at teaching, than experience and discovery; or as we should call it, play.


There are more complicated things about UE5, but that's not what I appreciate.


I hope you get to learn and maybe make a thing. I know I'm going to try to.



13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page